Chapter 1Don't Tryp. 1
The Feedback Loop from Hellp. 5
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuckp. 14
So Mark, What the Fuck Is the Point of This Book Anyway?p. 20
Chapter 2Happiness Is a Problemp. 23
The Misadventures of Disappointment Pandap. 26
Happiness Comes from Solving Problemsp. 30
Emotions Are Overratedp. 33
Choose Your Strugglep. 36
Chapter 3You Are Not Specialp. 41
Things Fall Apartp. 47
The Tyranny of Exceptionalismp. 57
B-b-b-but, If I'm Not Going to Be Special or Extraordinary, What's the Point?p. 60
Chapter 4The Value of Sufferingp. 63
The Self-Awareness Onionp. 70
Rock Star Problemsp. 76
Shitty Valuesp. 81
Denning Good and Bad Valuesp. 86
Chapter 5You Are Always Choosingp. 90
The Choicep. 91
The Responsibility/Fault Fallacyp. 95
Responding to Tragedyp. 102
Genetics and the Hand We're Dealtp. 105
Victimhood Chicp. 110
There Is No "How"p. 112
Chapter 6You're Wrong About Everything (But So Am I)p. 115
Architects of Our Own Beliefsp. 120
Be Careful What You Believep. 123
The Dangers of Pure Certaintyp. 129
Manson's Law of Avoidancep. 136
Kill Yourselfp. 139
How to Be a Little Less Certain of Yourselfp. 141
Chapter 7Failure Is the Way Forwardp. 147
The Failure/Success Paradoxp. 149
Pain Is Part of the Processp. 153
The "Do Something" Principlep. 158
Chapter 8The Importance of Saying Nop. 164
Rejection Makes Your Life Betterp. 170
Boundariesp. 172
How to Build Trustp. 181
Freedom Through Commitmentp. 186
Chapter 9...And Then You Diep. 190
Something Beyond Our Selvesp. 195
The Sunny Side of Deathp. 200
Acknowledgmentsp. 211